The President has declared 27 Minnesota counties and three tribes eligible for federal disaster aid after they were hit hard by severe storms in June and July.

The declaration covers Blue Earth, Nicollet, Cottonwood, Brown, Faribault, Watonwan, and many others, as well as the tribal governments of the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe, Red Lake Nation, and White Earth Nation. The public assistance will reimburse at least 75 percent of costs to repair public infrastructure like roads and water systems.

U.S. Senator Tina Smith toured several communities impacted by the storms and has vowed to, “Push to get this assistance out to eligible areas as quickly as possible.”

U.S. Representative Tim Walz said the, “Declaration is necessary to help our communities hit hard by storms and flooding over the summer recover.”